Los Angeles Harbor Commission elects new president

Los Angeles Harbor Commission elects new president

July 24, 2023

The Los Angeles Board of Harbor Commissioners has elected former US Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard as the new president. Additionally, the five-member commission also voted in Diane Middleton as its new vice president.

Both started their new roles immediately after their unanimous election on 20 July.

Roybal-Allard was appointed to the five-member board by Los Angeles Mayor Karen Bass in May 2023. She previously served in the US House of Representatives for three decades and was the first Mexican-American woman elected to the US Congress.

Also, Diane Middleton began serving on the Harbor Commission in 2019. A resident of San Pedro, Middleton is an attorney and expert in labor and maritime law, long active in Harbor area labor and civil rights issues.

The other three Los Angeles Harbor Commissioners are Ed Renwick, a board member since 2013; Michael Muñoz and I. Lee Williams, both appointed by Los Angeles Mayor Bass in May 2023.

“I am honored that Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard, an icon in public service, would agree to continue her service to our City on the Board of Harbor Commissioners and I am excited that she has just been elected as Board President,” said Los Angeles Mayor Karen Bass.

“I have known and fought alongside Commissioner Roybal-Allard for many years, and her experience in Congress, where she secured critical funding for Port operations and advocated for the equitable treatment of communities impacted by truck traffic, will be an asset to both the Port and to the City,” she added.

Tell us what you think about this post